New appointments to Cultural Institution Boards

Minister for the Arts Don Harwin has confirmed Lucy Turnbull AO and Professor Larissa Behrendt as new appointments to the Boards of the Art Gallery of New South Wales and Australian Museum respectively.

“Lucy Turnbull and Larissa Behrendt’s impressive experience across Sydney and beyond will be invaluable to each Board and I’m delighted they will now play a role in strengthening the governance of our leading NSW Cultural Institutions,” said Mr Harwin.

“They have both made superb contributions to arts and culture in NSW over a number of years and we are fortunate to have their experience on board to guide our institutions”.

In addition two reappointments have been made to the Historic Houses Trust of New South Wales (Sydney Living Museums).
Sharon Veale and Roderick Simpson have been reappointed to provide specialist knowledge and experience in history and architecture, respectively.

“I am grateful for their continued support of the Historic Houses Trust of New South Wales and look forward to their ongoing guidance for the Board.”

All appointed and reappointed Members will serve until 31 December 2021, effective immediately.



Art Gallery of NSW Board – Lucy Turnbull AO

  • Ms Turnbull is a businesswoman and philanthropist with a longstanding interest in cities, and technological and social innovation
  • Ms Turnbull was the first female Lord Mayor of the City of Sydney and, in 2011, became an Officer of the Order of Australia for distinguished service to the community, local government and business
  • Ms Turnbull chaired the Committee for Sydney from 2012 to 2015 and was appointed Chief Commissioner of the Greater Sydney Commission in 2015.

Australian Museum Board – Distinguished Professor Larissa Behrendt

  • Distinguished Professor Larissa Behrendt is the Professor of Law and Director of Research at the Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning at the University of Technology Sydney
  • Professor Behrendt is the Chair of the Humanities and Creative Arts panel of the Australian Research Council College of Experts and is the author of several books on Indigenous legal issues
  • In addition, Professor Behrendt is a film writer and director and has won several awards, including the Australian Directors Guild Award for Best Direction in a Feature Documentary
  • In 2009, Professor Behrendt was awarded the NAIDOC Person of the Year award and was the 2011 NSW Australian of the Year
  • Professor Behrendt is a member of the Eualeyai and Kamillaroi people from the north-west of NSW and fulfils the Australian Museum’s requirement for a Trustee with knowledge and experience in Australian Aboriginal culture.
Previous PostMoving Histories // Future Projections – tour wraps up
Next PostCommunicating the Arts conference – Special offer 2 for 1