The history of the Macleay Valley is as fascinating as it is diverse and one of the best ways to appreciate it is to visit the Macleay River Historical Society’s award winning Museum in South Kempsey.
The Museum, housed in the unique Glenn Murcutt Building adjacent to the Visitor Information Centre, traces the valley’s history from the time of the Aborigines to today.
The Museum features collections and displays of historic artefacts relevant to the Macleay district.
The Photographic Section. has a collection that includes more than 40,000 images and photographs, most of which are fully catalogued and cross-referenced. History on the Macleay is covered from 1830 to the present. This asset is made up not only from local donations but also from several major collections of professional quality. High quality prints may be obtained at a very reasonable price.
The Museum has Disabled Access and bus groups are most welcome.
The Kempsey Museum is featured in our collaborative project Our Rivers – Our History involving seven museums on the Mid North Coast from the Manning Valley to the Macleay.
The Our Rivers – Our History website seeks to showcase some of the most significant objects held in our museums relating to our rivers and coastal waters which are such an integral part of our history.