Hillgrove was a town which grew, flourished and died in the Eastern New England district between 1880 and 1920.
The deep underground gold mines which it serviced showed great promise but their eventual closure sealed the fate of this once-busy settlement.
The Hillgrove Museum which is situated in the former Public School, tells the story of the town, its 3,000 inhabitants and its glittering array of facilities. There are the many stories of families who came to Hillgrove, worked, married, raised families and, sometimes, died there and lie in the leafy cemetery.
Visitors can see the working conditions of miners toiling deep underground, and the impressive rope-hauled tramways which gave access to the spectacular Baker’s Creek Gorge.