Last weekend, the multi-million dollar, three-year upgrade of the Tweed Regional Museum came to fruition when the doors of the new facility were finally thrown open!
The flurry of activity over the last weeks – the last licks of paint, the installation of signage, the arrival of new showcases and the careful transit of object from store to display–belied the years of planning and the long months of hard work prior.
The Tweed Regional Museum takes a sophisticated and sustainable approach to its history.
“The Museum has been closed to the public since 2011 while an extensive upgrade and extension was undertaken to give the area a truly first-class display space to tell the story of the Tweed’s heritage. The upgrade and restoration of the 1915 building to its former glory further enhances the area’s cultural trail for visitors”, explained Cr Longland at Saturday’s ceremony which necessitated the closure of Queensland Road to accommodate the 400-plus audience.
The Tweed Regional Museum takes a sophisticated and sustainable approach to its history; maintaining three sister venues at Uki, Tweed Heads as well as the new facility at Murwillumbah. Each venue caters for different audiences, shares and maintains its collection items collaboratively, and promotes significant themes within the region’s history.
The nearby Margaret Olley Art Centre at the Tweed Regional Gallery has already seen 70,000 visitors through its doors since it opened in March, so the Tweed Regional Museum provides another reason to visit the rich and culturally prosperous Tweed Valley.
The Hon. Thomas George MP, Member for Lismore and Councillor Barry Longland, Mayor of Tweed, officially opened the Museum.