The sign “Lightning Ridge Population?” welcomes you to the opal fields. Here at the museum we research, record, maintain and share local history to explain the “?”.
People come to the Ridge seeking opal, landscape and legends. It’s a lifestyle.
Our complex is located just past the Crocodile Caravan Park at the beginning of town. The 1932 miner’s hut – Heritage Cottage – is ‘a step back in time’. Walk through the front door onto dirt floors then follow the cat’s footprints in concrete into the kitchen. It is bulging with memorabilia of the era and we sell our historical booklets plus select craft.
The Museum featured a relocated and refurbished 1915 nurse’s cottage in the backyard – Heritage Cottage – is a tribute to all bush nurses. The illuminated tableau of Nurse Lucy in the front windows attracts daily attention and with permanent and changing displays extending onto the wide verandah, it’s a place for reflection. The patio is spacious with comfortable seating and the backyard features mining icons in a garden setting. This is a quiet place off the main street for conversation and or lunch.