Hambledon Cottage Museum
Hambledon Cottage was built by John Macarthur in 1824 on the grounds of his Elizabeth Farm Estate as additional accommodation for family and friends. It was home to many prominent Parramatta identities and is listed on the NSW State Heritage Register.
This elegant cottage is built of sandstock brick in the Colonial Georgian style and boasts a veranda enclosed by French doors and a beautiful, vaulted ceiling. It has been lovingly restored to this period. In the groiunds are many heritage-listed trees, some nearly 200 years old.
John Macarthur’s Hambledon Cottage is presented as a house museum in the domestic style of the 1820s-1880s and contains many pieces of the era, some with Parramatta provenance.
Highlights of the collection include an 1836 Broadwood square piano, the Reverend Samuel Marsden’s desk and a bed provenanced to Governor Fitzroy.
All tours through the museum are guided and visitors, young and old, can experience the 19th century lifestyle.
Contact & Visit
63 Hassall Street
(corner Gregory Place)
Present and Past Family Life (Stage 1) - $7.00pp
First Contacts (Stage 2) - $7.00pp
Australian Colonies (Stage 3) - $10.00pp
11:00 am to 4:00 pm
Last tour at 3pm. Open most public holidays, except Christmas Day and Boxing Day, groups of 15 or more on other days and times by appointment