Glenreagh Memorial Museum
Glenreagh is the oldest village in the Orara Valley, and has retained much of the atmosphere from its early years as a gold mining and timber area. The Glenreagh Memorial Museum is located in the School of Arts building, dating back to 1915. Our collection embraces the many aspects of life as it was in the valley from the heady days of gold mining to the thriving early timber industry, education and social events. Many visitors enjoy their walk down memory lane, whilst visiting children have fun with the butter churns and pats.
Next to the museum is the restored Australia Post Office (itself unique because of its size) which houses an Australia Post and Communications display, including an operating Party Line and the original PO Boxes.
With the aid of our Heritage Walk brochure visitors are encouraged to take a leisurely stroll through the village and browse amongst the craft and bric-a-brac galleries or have refreshments at the hotel, bakery or coffee shop.
The museum offers ample parking, access for people with a disability, and is close to parks and gardens for picnicking.