The Boonda one teacher school transported from its original location gives a glimpse into how country children went to school.
Gil Craig Gem and Mineral Collection
The Museum occupies several buildings, the main one originally the Post Office Hotel. It is of slab construction using pit sawn and hand-adzed local cypress timber with a puddled iron roof. Built in 1860, the building has been a private home since World WarI and saw continuous occupation until 1970.
The Post Office Hotel was one of the first 10 buildings in Bingara and comprised 32 rooms, plus stables. Presently, the Museum has it furnished as a private home.
Other buildings in the grounds include the relocated Boonda subsidised school and blacksmith shop, where the infamous bushranger Thunderbolt regularly had his horse shod. A substantial collection of horse-drawn equipment and farming implements is on display in the grounds.
The Museum has extensive photographic displays and gem and geology collections.