NSW Premier’s History awards

The NSW Premier’s History Awards were first presented in 1997 to honour distinguished achievements in history by Australian citizens and permanent residents. The awards assist in establishing values and standards in historical research and publication and encourage everyone to appreciate and learn from the work of our historians. They are held annually.

Past winners have included KS Inglis, Patricia Jalland, Inga Clendinnen, Bruce Scates and Raelene Frances, Trevor Graham, Christopher Clark, Nadia Wheatley and Grace Karskens. The New South Wales Premier’s History Awards are administered by the State Library of NSW in association with Arts NSW.

Total prize money in 2017 is $75,000.

Nominations are sought for the following prizes:
Australian History Prize
General History Prize
New South Wales Community and Regional History Prize
Young People’s History Prize
Multimedia History Prize.

Entries must be received by the State Library of NSW (SLNSW) no later than 5pm, Friday 7 April 2017.

All works must have been first published, broadcast, screened or made publiclyavailable between 1 April 2016 and 31 March 2017.

Find out more