Front of Museum
Discover bygone times at the Scone Museum. Learn about Scone and district, the history, the people, and their way of life.
Housed in the old Scone Lock-up and built in 1870, the lock-up was adapted as a residence in 1930 when new cells were built in the exercise yard. It became the home of the Museum and Historical Society in 1966.
The Scone district was home to the Wonaruah people before Europeans arrived in 1825. To the settlers it was a centre of rural life and a stage on the route northwards. Today the saleyards, abattoir, Lake Glenbawn, and the cattle properties and horse studs of the district give it life.
See the permanent and changing exhibitions–enjoy the collection of dolls and toys. See the war memorabilia. Look into grandmother’s kitchen and inspect grandfather’s tools!
(02) 6545 9773
09:30 to 14:30
14:30 to 16:30 (other times by appointment)
The Research Centre is located in the former Sergeant's residence and contains photographic collections, newspapers, town land records and records of local organisations.
Wed 9.30am to 2.30pm
As the ‘horse capital’ of Australia, the Upper Hunter has many famous ...
Stay in touch
Our latest e-news is packed with news, events, and exhibition info.