After its closure the Narrabri Historical Society was invited to house their collection in the Old Gaol section, and the museum opened in 1988. Visitors can experience the austere “feel” of the building with its cells, exercise yard and a black tracker’s hut.
Today the museum houses an extensive collection of artefacts of historical, archival and cultural significance, in addition to an extensive family history section catalogued by dedicated local historians. From a historical point of view, the centre houses a well documented range of early Australian memorabilia. The women’s cell is given over to the “Dalway Collection”, a fascinating collection of documents, uniforms, paintings and other articles from an influential Irishman who travelled to Australia in the early 1800’s, changed his name and took up life as an Australian. A well-versed guide will share the history of this early pioneer.