Once an abandoned Ghost station, Old Casino has been brought back to life and now houses a collection of rail stories, photos and artefacts preserving the unique history of the Casino–Murwillumbah railway.
Built at the height of the golden age of railways, this timber federation era station building survived termites, bushfires and demolition. Originally the main station for Casino on the line that was planned to link Brisbane to Sydney through Tweed Heads, Murwillumbah, Lismore, Tenterfield and then through the New England, a plan that was never realised once the Sydney-Brisbane standard gauge line was built in 1930.
Explore the booking office, restored to showcase the 1915 workplace as it was when the Light Horse camped on the adjoining paddock. The historic site once thrived with activity when hundreds of men worked here at all manner of jobs.
See the hand tools the track builders used and look up the Honour Roll of former workers to see if your ancestor worked here.
Enjoy picnicking under the huge trees, some of which were planted by the station staff in the days when Old Casino won the railway station garden competitions.
Ride our miniature train and inside the old Refreshment Room discover the model railway in tiny N gauge!