About

Founded in 1954 the Museum of Education is built around a unique collection of historic school houses. These are a 1883 “beehive” school from Pallamallawa near Moree, the Dumaresq school from the 1880s and a 1948 portable classroom from Armidale High. Each schoolhouse is furnished with authentic school furniture, books, teaching aids and photographs.

One of the exhibits at the Museum is a replica of an old travelling school. The travelling school consists of a wagon with a sleeping bunk, a cooking stove and a blackboard. It was both home and school for the teacher. This replica was constructed in 1959 under the supervision of a former travelling school teacher from Ivanhoe.

In addition, the Museum has a superb collection of early school texts and departmental publications, comprising 6,000 volumes.

Public Programs and Excursions

The Museum of Education offers education programs for primary school children. Up to fifty children can be accommodated. The program takes one hour. This visit can be combined with other school education programs in Armidale, such as the National Trust’s Saumarez Homestead

Visiting

The Museum is open by appointment. To visit Groups and individuals interested in visiting the Museum should contact the UNE Heritage Centre on 02 6773 6555 or email heritage@une.edu.au

Contact

(02) 6773 6555
Email Us
Visit our web site


Entry Fees

General admission is free.


Getting There
104 Kentucky Street
Armidale

Opening Hours


12:00 am to 12:00 am
The museums is open by appointment.