Australian Army Museum of New South Wales

  • 1/2

    Australian Army Museum of New South Wales

  • 2/2

    Australian Army Museum of New South Wales


The Australian Army Museum of NSW (AAMNSW) was founded in 1977. It is housed in what was the gaol complex of Victoria Barracks.  The Victoria Barracks complex dates from its first occupation in 1848, and is one of the finest examples of British colonial military architecture of the Victoria era, in the Southern Hemisphere.

The museum’s extensive collection spans 4 centuries of military history pertaining to Sydney, New South Wales and Australia. From the arrival of the First Fleet in 1788 to the most recent campaigns of the 21st Century. For medal buffs the collection is a ‘must see’ and includes 3 Victoria Crosses. Allow at least 30 minutes to explore the museum and gaol cells. Many visitors spend considerable time more. 

Bookings are essential for groups over 10 visitors. The Barracks is a high security area and photo ID is needed to gain entry, via the Pass Office on Moore Park Road.

For visitors attending on a Thursday, the Barracks has an onsite café. Great for morning tea or lunch between the guided tour and the museum visit.

Opening days/hours: Thursday 10AM-2PM. First Sunday of the month 10AM-2PM.

A free 2 hour walking tour of the barracks is conducted as part of the ‘Victoria Barracks Experience’ by the Corps of Guides. For this tour visitors must be at the Pass Office entry point at the rear of  Victoria Barracks, off Moore Park Road, Paddington, by 9:30AM. Photo ID is required. NOTE: No entry to the  barracks is possible from Oxford Street. It is recommended that visitors use public transport, buses depart corner of Elizabeth and Liverpool Street Routes (consult Sydney Buses website)  and go up Oxford Street and along Flinders Street. Alight on the corner of Flinders and South Dowling Street, 100m walk to barracks entry via the Pass Office off Moore Park Road. Street parking is very limited. There is no public parking onsite. Nearest public parking is at FOXTEL Studios (500m).

Address: Australian Army Museum of New South Wales, Victoria Barracks, Paddington, Sydney. Museum entrance off Moore Park Road, via Pass Office.

Phone: (02) 8335 5330. The phone is only manned Tuesdays, Thursdays and the first Sunday of the month. The phone has facilities to leave messages, alternatively email your questions.


(02) 8335 5330
Email us
Visit our website

Entry Fees

$5.00 per person for visitors 18+.
Children free.
ADF members free.

Getting There

Victoria Barracks, Moore Park Road
Paddington, NSW 2021

Museums & Galleries of NSW helps small-medium museums, galleries and Aboriginal cultural centres create exciting experiences for visitors and, through this, thriving local NSW communities. We don't run museums, galleries and cultural centres but we care about those who do. We develop their skills, connect them with others in the industry, provide funding, point visitors their way, and give them access to ground-breaking exhibitions.

Museums & Galleries of NSW is supported by the NSW Government through Create NSW.

Stay in touch


Our latest e-news is packed with news, events, and exhibition info.