New displays at Tweed Regional Museum Murwillumbah
Bullock team towing logs
Rowlands Creek, Uki, c.1900. Tweed River Regional Museum Collection TH202-27.
Tweed Heads/Coolangatta Surf Lifesaving team
January 1921. Tweed River Regional Museum Collection TH62-24.
Established in 2004 the Tweed Regional Museum has three locations; Murwillumbah, Tweed Heads and Uki. Spanning the Shire from the coast to the mountains, the branches of Tweed Regional Museum are a unique journey into the history, people and places of the majestic Tweed Valley.
The Murwillumbah branch is located in the original Shire Council Chambers of 1915 and has recently opened after major redevelopment. The award winning multi-million dollar upgrade treasures the old and embraces the new. The historic 1915 building has been restored to its former glory and now flows into a spacious and modern exhibition area, with vibrant displays bringing Tweed's history to life through stories of our past.
During 2017 the Tweed Heads branch underwent major refurbishment. The original Tweed Heads Court House, constructed in 1926 and moved to the current site in 1985, is now the centerpiece. The story of this heritage building and of law and order in the Tweed, together with highlights from the Museum’s extensive photographic collection, are featured.
The smallest branch of the museum is in the picturesque village of Uki, nestled at the base of Wollumbin / Mt Warning. This branch is a local heritage resource centre housing a small collection of historic objects and photographs about life over the years in the remote upper reaches of the valley.
For locations and opening hours of branches, please visit our website museum.tweed.nsw.gov.au
A network of country roads makes it easy to experience the sun-drenched ...
Stay in touch
Our latest e-news is packed with news, events, and exhibition info.