Bishop’s Lodge Historic House & Garden
Bishop’s Lodge Historic House is a remarkable iron house and outbuildings designed and built in 1888 by Bishop Sydney Linton and architect, John Sulman. It incorporates innovative design ideas for mitigating Hay’s extreme summer heat.
Bishop’s Lodge is surrounded by a heritage garden featuring a remarkable collection of historic roses, some of which are unique.
The house was the residence for the Anglican Bishop of the Riverina. The small but significant collection is based around the families who lived there, its use as a hostel for school boys in the 1930s and 1940s, the heritage roses and the work of the volunteer management committee since 1985.
Heritage Rose Garden
The historic garden contains a remarkable collection of heritage roses.
Bishop's Lodge Shop
Potted roses and souvenirs are available for purchase.